Betfred Cup 2018

This years league cup continues under the sponsorship of, Betfred, with the regionalised, league format.

Group Stages

The group stage involves 40 clubs - the 38 SPFL teams not involved in European competition plus Cove Rangers (Highland League champions) and Spartans (Lowland League representative), drawn into eight groups of five.

They were split into four North groups and four South groups. Each group contains one seeded club, one second seed and three unseeded clubs.

We were drawn in Group G as one of the second seeds in the South section, along with Motherwell, Clyde, Stranraer and Edinburgh City.

The fixture details have been confirmed and we kick off with a home tie against Stranraer on Saturday July 14th.

Group matches

Clubs are awarded the usual three points for a win but all drawn games in the group stage go straight to penalties - the shoot-out winners receive a bonus point. ie three points for a win, two points for a shoot-out win and one point for losing on penalties.

Knock-out rounds

The eight group winners and four best runners-up progress to the second round, where they are joined by the four clubs competing in Europe.

The tournament reverts to a traditional knock-out format from the second round onwards, with ties decided by extra time and penalties if the scores are level after 90 minutes.

Group G Table

  P W D1 D2 L F A GD Points
Motherwell 4 3 0 1 0 11 2 9 10
Queens 4 3 0 0 1 12 5 7 9
Edinburgh City 4 1 1 0 2 5 12 -7 5
Clyde 4 1 0 1 2 5 8 -3 4
Stranraer 4 0 1 0 3 7 13 -6 2

1 Won penalty shoot out (2 point)

2 Lost penalty shoot out (1 point)

Queens qualify for the second round as one of the best 2nd place teams

The draw for the 2nd round is on Sunday 29th July and ties will be played on weekend of 18/19th August.